Movie Reviews – Filth

As you may have seen from my previous post, my last post was reviewing the brilliant film, Trainspotting. Haven’t seen it? Click here to read it! In this post I’ll be moving away from the 1996 film and I’ll be reviewing the more modern, 2013, Filth.


Filth

Filth focuses on a bipolar cop who dabbles in drugs and spends his time taking part in questionable activities. The film is definitely worth seeing and makes you question a lot of things due to the way the director has incorporated his hallucinations and the effective use of editing.

The cast:

James McAvoy as Bruce Robertson

Jamie Bell as Ray Lennox

Eddie Marsan as Bladesey

Imogen Poots as Amanda Drummond

The film is an effective one and appeals to its audiences according to Rotten Tomatoes, 73% like it and has been rated 6.9/10. I found it to be quite a morbid and brutal film however has so many twists and turns that it kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole duration! I found the use of editing to really help the director portray the overall atmosphere of the film as well as the way that Bruce Robertsons mind is decaying. It helps add some confusion to the story which made me especially eager to find out the way it ends and the films ending certainly doesn’t disappoint. It is a must see!

And just to tease those of you who haven’t seen it and to remind those of you who have heres the trailer:

Leave a comment